Thursday, 23 August 2012

Deltawomen Honors Volunteers with PRESIDENT’S VOLUNTEER SERVICE AWARD

For Immediate Release                                                           Contact:  Elsie Ijorogu-Reed

Deltawomen Honors Volunteers with

President’s Volunteer Service Award

 Award is a Prestigious National Honor for Volunteer Service

Houston, TexasDeltawomen today announced it has awarded 5 volunteers with the President’s Volunteer Service Award, a national honor offered in recognition of volunteer service.

Established in 2003, the Award is available on an annual basis to individuals, groups and families who have met or exceeded requirements for volunteer service and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship through volunteering.  As one of thousands of Certifying Organizations participating in the Award program, Deltawomen confers the award to recognize the outstanding achievements of its volunteers, and today honors the following volunteers:
  • Dr. Kalra (Bronze)
  • Elaheh Zohrevandi (Bronze, Silver, Gold)
  • Kirthi Jayakumar (Bronze, Silver, Gold)
  • Simisola Ogun (Bronze, Silver)
  • Lylin Aguas (Bronze)

Deltawomen has a long history of volunteer service, and more than 140 volunteers perform community service each year on behalf of the organization.

“In his 2002 State of the Union Address, President George W. Bush created the USA Freedom Corps, and called on every American to make a lifelong commitment to volunteer service.  The President’s Volunteer Service Award recognizes individuals and families who have answered that call,” said Elsie Ijorogu-Reed of Deltawomen. 

“America’s volunteers work to make our communities stronger and safer. As a Certifying Organization for the Award program, Deltawomen is proud to be aligned with this prestigious volunteer award, and we are especially proud of our volunteers who have made volunteer service a central part of their lives.”

The President’s Volunteer Service Award is an award for volunteer service that every American – from every age and every walk of life – can aspire to achieve.  To be eligible to receive the Award, individuals, families and groups submit a record of their annual volunteer service hours to participating Certifying Organizations, such as Deltawomen, that will verify the service and deliver the Award. Award eligibility for individuals and groups is based on hour requirements varying by age. 

“These recipients of the President’s Volunteer Service Award are role models for all Americans and people all over the world,” Elsie Ijorogu-Reed said.  “Each volunteer hour contributed makes a difference in improving the quality of life for others, and I encourage everyone to contribute to our community by volunteering.  Volunteers bring us closer together as families, as communities and as a Nation, through their commitment.”

The Award is issued by the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation, a group created by President Bush to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making to our Nation.  Chaired by two-time Super Bowl Champion Darrell Green, with former U.S. Senators Bob Dole and John Glenn as honorary co-chairs, the Council comprises leaders in government, media, entertainment, business, education, nonprofits and volunteer service organizations, and community volunteering.

For more information about volunteering for Deltawomen send an email to



  1. Thank u so much for this honour.. I am glad to be a part of Delta women!! Three cheers for your spirit!!!!

  2. Thank you Elsie, for EVERYTHING!